Choreographer’s Corner: Sadie Weinberg

Here we are again with another Choreographer’s Corner!  Lucky for us we will be writing a new one pretty frequently until our “Young Choreographer’s Prize Contest” on December 19th.  We have lots of interviews to get through, each one unique, and special.  We feel so honored to have such a talented group of young artists to learn about.

Sadie Weinberg is absolutely no exception.  She graces the SDDT studios with her presence from time to time, sometimes with her stunning baby Miles in tow.

Despite being a busy dancing mama, she still found a chance to answer our questions, and we are very grateful to her for that.  Here is what she had to say:

Q: Tell us a little bit about your history in Dance.

A: I began training in ballet locally while in High School with Stephen and Betsy Wistrich of City Ballet, and Gail Wingfield.  I also took class with Jean regularly on Saturdays throughout high school.  I went on to UC Irvine for 1 year where I worked with Shawn Greene of the Lewitsky company, Larry Rosenberg of Anaheim Ballet and Donald Mckayle.  From there I went to the Conservatory of Dance at Purchase college training in Graham, Cunningham and ballet.  At Purchase I also worked intimately with Kevin Wynn, Neil Greenberg, Doug Varone and Kazuko Hirabayashi.  I graduated from Purchase College with a BFA in Dance in 1999.  I later went on to finish my Graduate work at UC Irvine studying under Lisa Naugle and Donald Mckayle.

Q: Why do you believe your work should win this competition?

A: I don’t expect to win.  My goal is to create a piece that leaves a lasting impression on audience members.  My hope is to make people see things differently, if only for a fleeting moment… to find beauty in the ordinary and the extraordinary.

Q: What are the themes involved in your piece?  Is this a new exploration for you?

A: I am teaching choreography this semester and one thing I always tell my students is “we are only capable of making work from where we are at in our lives at that given moment, and hopefully from that honest place we can find a way to make our experience transcend self and speak to the greater human experience.”
Where I’m at: a 30-something dancer questioning the choices I made, wondering what the next step is, trying to juggle work, staying ‘current’ in my art form, being a mom, a mentor, a student, a partner, a vital part of my family, a cleaning lady, a cook and all the other things required of me BEFORE I even get to fathom making art.  I suppose that is not so far off from the struggle of most people.  We are, inevitably, everyday struggling with our ordinariness in the hopes that every once in a while we will touch on something extraordinary….

Every piece is a new exploration.  Being in the arts means constantly redefining oneself.

Q: What do you want your audience to know coming into the performance?

A: Come with an open mind……

 

Thank you Sadie!  Here is a short slide show of this fabulous woman at work:

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

