Choreographer’s Corner: Daniel Marshall

It is a little over a week before our first ‘San Diego Young Choreographer’s Prize’ performance!  After interacting with the majority of the contestants participating in the competition, we have one thing to say:  The judges have their work cut out for them!  We truly believe that this young group of artists are in amazing company, with some of the most driven, talented, and all-around lovely people in San Diego.

Daniel Marshall is absolutely no exception.  He is another Young Choreographer with his own company: The Ladiego Dance Theater.  They work by  “fusing classic and contemporary styles to rediscover the common vocabulary of dance.”  Check out Daniel Marshall’s promotional video at the end of this entry to witness a little bit of what he is talking about in his company’s mission statement.  We are so excited to see what new work he brings to the competition.  Here is what he had to say:

Q: Tell us a little bit about your history in Dance.

I began my dance career in California at the San Diego Creative School of Performing Arts. Soon after Graduation, I went to New York to accept a scholarship at the Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater. By 1997, I set several pieces including “Blessed Assurance” which received the Tommy Award for Best Male Performer/Choreographer.  In 2001 Dance Magazine named me one of its “25 to Watch”. I Received National Choreography Award NE in 2002. In 2004 and 2009 I was a finalist in Palm Desert Choreography Festival. I have set several ballets on several companies around the states including Vineland Regional Dance Company, South Dayton Dance Theater, Louisiana Delta Ballet and Dayton Contemporary Dance Company. I am now Artistic Director of LaDiego Dance Theater (voted San Diego’s Best Theater Group by 10 News A-List) and The Dance Conservatory.

 

Q: Why do you believe your work should win this competition?

I feel that my works wins if I have touched one person in the audience. I create works to inspire, entertain and excite people. Of course receiving compensation is always great but just like my dance career “I do it because I love it and when I don’t love it anymore I will begin the search for my next love in life”.

 

Q: What are the themes involved in your piece?  Is this a new exploration for you?

A: I have been creating works about the different elements (earth, water, fire and air). I will be presenting earth in this performance which will reveal the secrets of how sand moves through time and space.

 

Q: What do you want your audience to know coming into the performance?

A: My goal always is and will be to bring dance back to dance. This means, I want people to sit back and enjoy the power, passion and beauty of dance without having to think or read to much into what is happening onstage.

How cool is he?  Make sure you can get your tickets to The Young Choreographer’s Prize Performance so you can support Daniel, and all of these amazing young artists!  Thank you Daniel for your time, we are so excited to see what you bring on December 19th.

Check out his company’s promotional video it’s pretty spectacular!

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Choreographer’s Corner: Daniel Marshall

  1. tr says:

    Awesome video, Daniel!

Leave a Reply

