Choreographer’s Corner: Stephanie Smith

Photo by Rich Soublet

Our New Voices performance is THIS weekend! It came up so quick! Our phone lines are starting to pick up with tickets sales so make sure you get yours today!  All of our dancers and choreographers have worked very hard to make this a memorable performance for our audiences.  You do not want to miss it. All ticket information can be found HERE.

We are also continuing with our campaign for our invited New Voices choreographers and thanks to you it has been a very successful steady growth in funds.  We have a little ways to go, but we feel positive and grateful for all the support we have gotten from our community.  Thank you so much!  For those still interested in donating, you can do so HERE.

Since this is the week of our performance we will have two installments of our Choreographer’s Corner- you lucky dance lover you!  But today we have a very special edition since our Choreographer being featured has her birthday today!  Happy Birthday to the beautiful Stephanie Smith!  We hope you are spending your day dancing!

Here is what she would like her audience to know about her performance before the show:

I’m still finding my choreographic voice so to speak. Figuring out how to approach creating movement based on human experiences while keeping it honest is my goal in each piece. During the making of this dance in the show, I used a new process to finding what it was I wanted to say and how to say it. This piece was the first one I have made based off of my own personal experience in life. I had created movement during some summer workshops not really thinking about what it all meant and as I kept building and redefining it did I start to notice that I was subconsciously dancing my way through a personal problem that had developed at the same time. I had never done a dance about myself, so I was a bit hesitant to pursue this piece. How do you make a dance to express a personal and emotional state without coming off a bit narcissistic, especially when you’re dancing in the dance too? Dances are created all the time based on the artist’s view about the world or their way of expressing a feeling, so why did it feel so odd to me? Mostly I struggled with using this piece to work through a problem and at times it was more like a therapy session. There were days when I worried about the movement becoming transparent and the dance turning into a pity party. Little bit of a spoiler alert: I spent a great deal of time struggling with my fear that finally making myself see a positive outcome was the only way to go forward. I am extremely grateful for having amazing dancers to be there with me and help me bring it out. This performance provided myself with the means to learn how dance really is a foundation in my life. It has always been here for me and when it boils down to it, dance is what I know best.

Thank you Stephanie.  That was beautifully put.  We really look forward to seeing your final product and we hope you are enjoying your special day.

Here is a slide show of images from a recent rehearsal of Stephanie’s work.  All photos are by Rich Soublet.  Thanks Rich!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

