Young Choreographer’s Prize Interview: Kevin Jenkins!

Boy do we love these interviews!  This year’s group of Choreographer’s are truly fantastic and every interview we share with you we get closer to the day and the competition!  Today we are sharing with you a little info on our third ‘Young Choreographer’s Prize’ finalist Kevin Jenkins!  
 
Image
 
Tell us a little bit about your history in Dance. 
I started dancing at 18 while attending Grossmont College.  Later I was on scholarship at APA and starting performing locally while training there.  I’ve worked with Butterworth Dance Company, Jean Isaacs doing Trolley Dances, Teresa Wells and Tracy Van Baalen with Mirable Ballet.  I even worked and performed with Mary Murphy for two year before she went on to So You Think You Can Dance!  I started my own company, Garage Contemporary Ballet, with Ryan Orion Beck five years ago and we’ve had a short season each year since.  I’ve been focusing on dance films for the last four years and several of my films have been featured in Pointe and Dance Magazine.  

In 100 words or less, why do you believe your work should win this competition?  
 
I think I should win because my work is well thought out, creative, and fresh.  I try to approach each piece by making it something that I haven’t done before and hopefully something that no one else is doing either!

What are the themes involved in your piece?  Is this a new exploration for you?  
The duet I’m choreographing is completely abstract but unique in that it’s a female duet.  With ballet and contemporary ballet it’s so accepted to have the male/female dynamic that not having a opposite sexes is forcing me to focus instead on equal partnering and more involved movement.

What do you want your audience to know coming into the performance?  
Distinctions between genres are being broken down right now.  It’s hard for the audience to always understand what they’re seeing since labels are changing.  So I think what people should know is to simply appreciate each style for what it is.  I think dance is like wine – my definition of a good wine is not defined by age or price, but simply one that I enjoy.
 
Check out Kevin’s awesome choreography reel:  
 
 
Get your tickets to the performance today!  www.sandiegodancetheater.org.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

