Young Choreographers Prize Interview: Trystan Loucado

It is with great pleasure what we share our next interview installment for our upcoming ‘Young Choreographers Prize Showcase’.  This finalist has been part of the SDDT company for the past three years and delights our audiences with his performances constantly.  We are so excited that he is participating in the showcase this year and can’t wait to see what he contributes to the competition!  We love Trystan Loucado!  And here is what he has to say in response to our interview:

Tell us a little bit about your history in Dance.

After discovering ballet at 19 I was enamored. I had the fortune of being mentored by Ahita Ardalan, an amazing teacher and coach. After one year of dancing I received a full scholarship to the Boston Ballet’s summer program. When I got home I knew I wanted to dance professionally. One year after I returned from Boston I received a contact with Nevada Ballet Theater where I was able to dance works by many well known choreographer and enjoyed special performances with Cirque du Soleil. Since returning to San Diego I began dancing with San Diego Ballet and Malashock Dance. I am very happy to be currently dancing with City Ballet of San Diego as well as Jean Isaacs San Diego Dance Theater. I love dancing in this beautiful inspiring place and hope to grow with the dance scene here.

In 100 words or less, why do you believe your work should win this competition? 

I am not really as focused on winning the competition as having enough funds to properly pay my dancers. I think it is important to use professional level dancers to produce a certain quality of work. I am very happy to have such beautiful dancers to work with, but producing a piece with professionals can be costly for an independent choreographer. I believe that dancers should always be compensated for their time, so I would love to win the competition in order to have more funds to make more work with the talented dancers available in this city.

What are the themes involved in your piece?  Is this a new exploration for you? 

 I don’t want to get too serious about describing the themes in my piece. I want the audience members to have an experience unique to themselves when watching the work. This particular piece means many different things to me, so I would consider the themes pretty layered.  I am playing a lot with gender roles and perception of strength.

What do you want your audience to know coming into the performance? 

I am so happy to be a part of the dance scene in this city and want the audience to just be receptive to all of the forms of dance that they will see in the show. The great thing about dance is that it usually has little to no words to explain whats going on so a lot is open to interpretation. Keep your minds and hearts open, enjoy the experience, and don’t be afraid to draw your own conclusions.

Thank you Trystan!  We can’t wait to see your piece!  Have you gotten your ticket yet?  March 25th is around the corner!  For more information visit our website HERE! 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

