Young Choreographers Prize Interview: Aaron Shaw

Next Sunday the 25th is the big day!  The fantastic finalists will present their hard work for our panel of judges and hopefully for you!  Time is running out- and tickets are going fast, so if you are planning on coming to support your favorite San Diego Choreographer, what are you waiting for?  Grab your ticket HERE or call us today at 619.225.1803.  Remember- every audience member gets a say in who should win the Young Choreographers Prize!  Your voice matters!

Today’s interview is with Aaron Shaw, a work-study student with SDDT.  Check out his response to our questions on his upcoming presentation:

Tell us a little bit about your history in Dance.

I started in college. Found out quickly that I loved Modern/Contemporary dance and decided I wanted to do it. I received my BA in Dance at Brigham Young University. Found out in the process of learning that I enjoy choreographing, what I think of as playing on stage. Recently returned to San Diego and I am excited to be learning all about San Diego’s dance community.

In 100 words or less, why do you believe your work should win this competition?

I think that whoever brings the work of art that connects to it’s audience the most in an artistic way should win. I don’t know that that will be me. The job of a choreographer is to create a piece that will not only connect to the audience but that will affect them in some way, leaving that audience to ponder and think about the subject in a new way. Does most choreography do this? I doubt it. Those are the pieces however that I enjoy watching the most and that I think are the hardest to create. It’s easy to wow an audience, it is less easy to encourage them to examine their inner-self. Whoever does this the best using the elements of dance should win.

What are the themes involved in your piece?  Is this a new exploration for you?

I have stuck to one main theme and that is asking the question ” Who is the next statue?” What makes someone worthy of having a statue built in their honor? What experiences and decisions do those people go through that lead them to their distinguished actions? How large an affect does a society have on those individuals? All of these questions came out of the first “Who is the next statue?” The title of the piece, “Aedificium Statua”, is Latin for “Building Statues”. This title seems to best represent the task that we are all about both in this dance but also in our lives. Society is constantly “building statues” the question is, who is the next statue? This is a new exploration and a new work for my premier as a choreographer in beautiful San Diego.

What do you want your audience to know coming into the performance?

I want the audience to come in with an open mind. I want the audience to ask questions. I want the audience to watch the choreography for themselves. Don’t look for what we as the choreographers are trying to tell you, look for what you personally see and what you personally feel. It’s your experience watching these dances so make it your own.

Thanks Aaron!  We can’t wait to see your piece!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

