Young Choreographers Showcase Interview: Jessica Rabanzo-Flores

Hey there Young Choreographers fans, it is time for our next interview; this time with the beautiful Jessica Rabanzo-Flores! Check out what she’s shared about dance, choreography and her process.

Tell us a little bit about your history in Dance:JDRF Head shot
Since I began walking, I was dancing. Dance has been my passion for my entire life, and its existence has helped shape my character and given support in defining who I am as a woman.
Performing is an unparalleled experience. The stage allows me to be someone else, yet be exactly who I am. Dancing can be an out of body experience for me. I can give so much of myself in that moment, that I can physically feel like I have left my body and given a part of myself to the audience. The thrill and rapture I experience while performing is something that I crave and need to live for as long as I have breath.
And now choreographing has given me a new kind of thrill. It is both a challenging and rewarding process. When I see beautiful bodies dancing my movement with joy and fulfillment in their energy and expression it is one of the best sights for me to see! I have seen growth within myself in respect to my vocabulary and construction, and I welcome even more growth and evolution as a creator.

Why do you believe your work should win this competition?
I innovatively blend the worlds of contemporary dance and hip hop and I have pushed myself to present a piece that is unique and will stand apart from the rest. I am in awe of my dancers, and the way they are delivering my vision is incredible.

What are the themes involved in your piece? Is this a new exploration for you?
I am deeply inspired by music and subsequently both movement and intention are developed from a piece of music that moves me. There are both new and familiar elements of exploration for me; I have challenged myself to deepen my development with the recurring elements.

JDRF SDYCP Pic 3What do you want your audience to know coming into the performance?
I want my audience to come in with open minds and to “feel” as they watch my piece, rather than “think” as they witness what I have to present.
I want to allow my work to speak for itself and I strongly believe that it has the ingredients to do just that. I believe that while my piece comes from a specific intention, it is still so open to interpretation. That is the true beauty of art!

Don’t forget to come out and support Jessica the other fabulous  choreographers on February 23rd!

For tickets and other information, please visit:
http://www.sandiegodancetheater.org/ChoreographersPrize2013B.html
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

