Young Choreographers Showcase Interview: Tamara Saari

We are now just one short week away from the San Diego Young Choreographers Showcase and Prize and the choreographers and dancers are putting pedal to the metal and making dance happen! Today, finalist Tamara Saari shares her responses to our interview questions and commented on her unique experience with this competition this year.

Tell us a little bit about your history in Dance:383199_171350119625274_2001193084_n
I began dancing over 20 years ago and found my love for contemporary and modern dance at San Diego State University, where I graduated as 2004 Outstanding Graduate of the Year in dance.  Since then I have been dancing, teaching, choreographing and producing in both San Diego and New York City.

Why do you believe your work should win this competition?

I would like to win this competition because I believe I created an interesting new choreography emphasizing demanding movements and partner skills with dancers of different backgrounds, training, and experience.  I am currently working on the east coast and had a short amount of time to fly to San Diego to audition, choreograph, and finish a new work. I had a vision of the piece I intended to create before my arrival in San Diego from NYC, but knew I would be relying on my instincts to create new beautiful phrases and my experience to be able to make this movement look natural on six new dancers. Beyond that I had to inspire, connect and create a company feel amongst some dancers that had only just met. I hope my choreography, “____ed by you.” engages the audience and keeps a connection to them after.

What are the themes involved in your piece? Is this a new exploration for you?

313736_150611395032480_1163294938_nIn addition to partner work, I also enjoy working with props in my pieces.  In this choreography, something that I did uncharacteristically was choreograph to the music I intended on using for the piece.

What do you want your audience to know coming into the performance?
Only that I am thankful to be a part of this competition and I look forward to hearing what they think about my piece and if it means anything to them.

Thanks for sharing Tamara!

Haven’t bought your tickets yet?  You only have a few days left to secure your seat and an opportunity to vote for this year’s winner!

Tickets and info available at: http://www.sandiegodancetheater.org/ChoreographersPrize2013B.html

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

