Young Choreographers Showcase Interview: Jill Breckenridge

Next on our list of finalists is Jill Breckenridge. Jill has bounced around the country and danced in a variety of communities including the ballroom world and on the Las Vegas Strip! She’s been dancing in San Diego for a couple of years now and this is her first choreographic work since. She is working on something quirky that we think will be extra fun up close in the White Box space! She’s already thinking of the bigger picture- what she could do with the grand prize of a night in White Box Live Arts Fest 2017.
jill 2

What motivated you to apply for Young Choreographers this year?

I was motivated to apply to Young Choreographers because I wanted to offer my voice to San Diego, not only through performance but through choreography as well.  I’ve been lucky enough to dance in many different locations doing totally different styles and I finally felt like I had something to share and that now was the time.  Plus, my friend Jess Gilmore really made me believe I had something good to say.
Tell us a little bit about the piece you are creating for the showcase.
In short my piece is the story line of Clue (murder mystery) danced to music by Queen (extremely dramatic).  The audience follows 6 characters who are deeply intertwined in love, jealousy, betrayal and friendship. This 8 minute piece is just a trailer of what I want to do with the full length show. Jubilee
I have always been infatuated with Queen ever since my dad used to play their records for me when I came home from kindergarten.  I would dance around the living room and put on little shows for him and I still feel like their songs narrate my life.  I’m not exactly sure where the game of Clue came in, except for the fact that so many of their songs have a dark and creepy feel yet a satirical sense at the same time which is basically the premise of the 1985 movie Clue. Plus the idea of “who done it” was really exciting to me; having the audience be active in watching and really wondering who it could have been.
ballroom 1I think the audience was a huge inspiration for me and this process as well, giving them a real show is my constant driving force.  Coming from a theatrical background I miss seeing that in dance today, or experiencing it as an audience member- a wow factor or an emotional journey with the dancers.
My dancers are also so amazing! I picked very different people to carry the weight of being 6 completely different characters, really just having them be an exaggerated version of themselves.
Sounds like a blast, doesn’t it? Get your tickets soon because space is limited and it’s a show you don’t want to miss! Click here for details and tickets!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

