Dancer Blog- Trolley Dances 2016- Trevor Polcyn

We’re glad to start off our Dancer Blog series for Trolley Dances 2016 with Trevor Polcyn. In recent years, he discovered his passion for dancing and is cast in one of Jean’s community pieces. He is learning new life skills from his dance experience and has some fun stuff to share about the process:

13433300_10153579344606016_6451687250692403931_oCirca 2012 when I was at UCSD getting my B.S. in Psychology, I took two introduction to modern/contemporary classes to help balance out my mind against my academic workload. After graduating in 2013, I starting working and forgot to make time for dancing. It was spontaneous, but ultimately life changing, that I found myself enrolled in Teri Shipman’s Intro To Modern Dance at City College in the summer of 2015. It was there that I rediscovered my love for movement and also heard about San Diego Dance Theater’s Trolley Dance auditions.

I was encouraged to try out despite having very little experience. I had never auditioned for anything before. Needless to say, I felt woefully unprepared and ill-equipped to compete for a spot in the production. And yet, I auditioned. I tried my best because I felt like I should. To quote Paulo Coelho’s The Alchemist, “And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.” And it did! The universe conspired and Anne Gehman accepted me into her Trolley Dance. The experience in dancing for Anne in Trolley Dances was what propelled my interest into full gear. I continue to take an array of dance classes at City College, I am a work-study at San Diego Dance Theater for Anne’s Sunday classes, and I have high aspirations to pursue a career in danceSDDT-Trolley-Oct3-114.

My first time dancing in Trolley Dances was 2015 under Anne Gehman. In fact, it was my first time ever performing which makes it a truly unique and treasured memory for me. This is my second Trolley Dance performance. This year I’ll be performing with Wanda Tong Corbin, Kymberly Kellems, and JT Magee, under the guidance of Minaqua McPherson for a performance created and directed by Jean Isaacs. The overall theme of the performance can be characterized as jubilant, quirky, and expressive. Each of us is essentially a character that is an echo or a derivative stereotype of the car we’re driving. The experience is exciting because it allows us to adapt our own quirks, mannerisms, and dance techniques into the characters we’re portraying, creating a truly unique visual experience. 


_TrolPromo.2511.1-XLThe biggest difference with this dance compared to last year is: we’re driving our cars into the dance location as part of the dance performance.
 In order for me to be the character I am, I was forced to learn how to drive a manual transmission vehicle. At the ripe age of 26, it was terribly overdue. Adding a new skill set under my belt is always exciting. I hope that by the end of this, I will feel 100% confident behind the wheel of a jeep. Who knows how many times I’ll stall during the performances… Let’s at least hope it’s in the single digits! If I stall, please understand I’m not a manual-transmission master. Otherwise, I think its going to be pretty straight forward. Enjoy our funky duet shaking moments!

Thanks for giving us some excitement to look forward to! Trolley Dances 2016 runs September 24-25 and October 1-2: do you have your tickets yet? Get on board and enjoy the ride!

Dance photos by Manny Rotenberg
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

