LAF 2017- Daniel Diaz

Today we want to share a little bit about LIVE ARTS FEST 2017 artist, Daniel Diaz. He was the recipient of the Grand Prize at Young Choreographers Showcase and Prize 2016, which for the first time included a night in LIVE ARTS FEST in the following year. We are looking forward to seeing how Daniel has grown as an artist over the last year, an12832580_938626739585960_24272536162882074_nd think you should check out what he has to say about the journey:

The past year has been a whirlwind, both personally and as an artist. I am very influenced to create work that pulls from personal experience. “Heart-Driven” is based on that. I am very lucky to say that since my Young Choreographers win, I’ve been creating more and producing more work than ever. I’ve been working a lot in Orange County and LA- teaching classes, setting pieces, and evolving my style as a choreographer. I’ve been very involved in the community. As artists, we never stop evolving.
I love to always show a new side of myself through my work-showing the same thing would be boring to me.image3“Heart-Driven” is about stories, but most importantly, it’s about the stories dear and close to my heart. I’m a very emotional person, and this is a very emotional show! I’m excited to share all my stories but I’m also nervous! I’m basically putting myself out there for the world to see, in an artistic way, and that is one of the most vulnerable things I have ever done. Some of the stories I will share in this show are stories I have kept to myself for years. It will be exciting to see how the audience reacts.

I hope the audience comes into “Heart-Driven” vulnerable, with an open mind, and leaves reflecting on their own life. I wanted to create a show that is relatable- a show that people can connect with. After all, we’re all human, we all live and breathe and go through similar life events. My show celebrates that.

Catch Heart-Driven on April 14th, 7:30pm, at White Box Live Arts

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

